Theory and Practice

Sowa-Rigpa is based on the principles of Ngepa-Sum (Skt: Tridosa) and Jung-wa-nga (Skt: panchamahabhutas). The bodies of all living beings and non-living objects are composed of five components of the Jung-wa-nga: Sa, Chu, Me, Lung and Nam-kha (Skt: Prithvi, Jal, Agni, Vayu, and Akash). Based on these theories, the Physiology, Pharmacology, Pathology, and Metric-Medica of this system are established. Our body is a composition of the five core elements of Jung-wa-nga, an imbalance of which results in a disorder. In order to treat the disorders, the medicines developed comprise these very five elements. In our body, these elements exist in the form of Lus-sung-dun (Skt: Sapta Dhatu), Ngepa-Sum (Skt: Tri-dosa), and Dri-ma-Sum (Skt: Trimala). In diet, drinks, and drugs, these elements are present in the form of Zhu-jes (Skt: Vipaka), Ro-dug (Skt: Shast-rasa), Nus-pa (Virya), and Yontan (Skt: Guna). On the basis of the similarity and dissimilarity of the five elements, a physician can direct his skills and knowledge to treat the patient.

The theory of Sowa-Rigpa can thus be outlined in terms of the points as under:

  1. The body in disease as the epicenter of treatment  
  2. The antidote – the treatment
  3. The method of treatment through the antidote
  4. The medicine to cure the disease
  5. Materia Medica, Pharmacology, and Pharmacy

Disclaimer : Information given on the site not to be used for legal purposes.

Last updated on June 2nd, 2021 at 07:56 pm